PT. Pertamina Geothermal Energy

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Company Profile Working Area

Working Areas

PT Pertamina Geothermal Energy manages 15 business working areas, nine of them are operated by PT Pertamina Geothermal Energy alone, five other business working areas are managed through a Joint Operation Contract (KOB) and one business working area is managed through a Joint Venture (JV).

      A.  Sibayak

Sibayak Area is located in Brastagi Regency, North Sumatra. The current total installed capacity of the PLTP is 12 MW consisting of 1 Unit of Monboblock of 2 MW and 2 Units of PLTP of 2x5MW constituting ESC (Energy Sales Contract) with PT PLN, meanwhile 10 MW constitutes SSC (Steam Sales Contract) with PT Dizamatra Powerindo. The project was inaugurated by President Susilo Bambang Yudoyono on December 11, 2007 simultaneously with the inauguration of PLTP Kamojang Unit 4 and Lahendong Unit 2.  

B.  Sungai Penuh

Sungai Penuh Project located in Gunung Raya District, Kerinci Regency - Jambi is approximately 45 km towards the south of Sungai Penuh City. It is estimated that the project contains a geothermal potential of 80 MW. Currently, the Environmental Impact Analysis is in a completion process and PT Pertamina Geothermal Energy has targeted one unit of PLTP of 55 MW that is ready for commercial operation in 2012

C.  Lumut Balai

Lumut Balai Project located in Panindayan Village, Semendo District, Muara Enim Regency - South Sumatra Province is approximately 108 km from Baturaja City. The exploration drilling activity in the 2x55MW capacity Project has been started since 2007, 2 exploration wells had been drilled so far and the third exploration well is in a drilling process. It is estimated that the two tested wells contain a capacity of 15 MWe, PT Pertamina Geothermal Energy has targeted that two Units of PLTP with a capacity of 2x55MW will be in a commercial operation in 2011.

D.  Hululais

Hululais Project located in Lebong Regency is approximately spaced 180 km apart from Bengkulu City. The project has a capacity potential of 300 MW. The project is very much counted on to help overcome the deficit of electric energy needs in Bengkulu region and the nearby regions. Currently, the activity conducted in Hululais Project is in a infrastructure and drilling preparatory stage. PT Pertamina Geothermal Energy has targeted that two Units of PLTP with a capacity of 2x55MW will be in a commercial operation in 2012.

E.  Kotamobagu

The area of Kotamobagu Project located 250 km in the South of Manado City is in the territories of Bolaang Mongondow Regency and Minahasa Selatan Regency of North Sulawesi Province. The project has a potential of 280 MW, the current status of the project activity is in an Environmental Impact Analysis stage. PT Pertamina Geothermal Energy has targeted that two Units of PLTP with a capacity of 2x20MW will be in a commercial operation in 2012.

F.  Lahendong

Lahendong Area is located in Tomohon City, North Sulawesi. Lahendong Area that has been operated since 2001 was started with the operation of PLTP Unit-1 with a capacity of 20MW. The development of the next PLTP Unit pioneered since 2004 has now borne fruit upon the operation of PLTP Unit-2 with a capacity of 20 MW since the beginning of 2007, meanwhile PLTP Unit-3 is currently in a testing & commissioning stage and it is expected that it will have been in commercial operation in the first quarter of 2009, consequently, the total generation capacity in Lahendong Area will become 60MW. PLTP Lahendong is the largest generating unit and contributes 60% to the electricity system in North Sulawesi.

G.  Tompaso

Tompaso Project is located in Tompaso Village, approximately 15 km to the South of Lahendong Area. Exploration and explotation drilling activities have been conducted since October 2008. According to the plan, 8 drilling wells will be made to operate a generator with a capacity of 2x20 MW, that is, PLTP Unit 5 and Unit 6, expected to be in a commercial operation in 2012.

H.  Kamojang

Kamojang Area was in operation for the first time in 1982. Current total capacity of the PLTP is 200MW consisting of PLTP Units 1,2,3. A total of 140 MW is owned & operated by PLN and PLTP Unit 4 of 60 MW is owned & operated by PT PGE (total project). The success of Pertamina to complete the PLTP Unit-4 development project with a capacity of 60MW has on a total project basis promoted the image of business of Pertamina that has had an impression that it can only be engaging in the field of geothermal development in the upstream aspect alone. Today, a series of surverys are being conducted in the context of sounding out for the purpose of developing Kamojang Area further and MEQ survey is conducted routinely to monitor its reservoir system.

I.   Ulubelu

Ulubelu is located in Pagaralam and Muaradua Villages being spaced 45 km apart from the district of Talangpadang or approximately 125 km from Bandar Lampung City. Exploration drilling activities in the 2x55MW capacity Project have been started since 2007 and 3 exploration wells have been drilled. Reservoir evaluation and development drilling activities keep going on and 5 development wells were drilled in 2009. The result of testing of wells nos 2 & 3 can generate 20 Mwe. PT Pertamina Geothermal Energy has targeted that two Units of PLTP with a capacity of 2x55MW will be in a commercial operation in 2011.

Pertamina Geothermal Energy in developing its business also establishes cooperation by managing Joint Operation Contracts in several regions such as Gunung Salak with a capacity of 375 MW managed by Chevron Geothermal Salak, Darajat with a capacity of 260 MW managed by Chevron Geothermal Indonesia, Wayang Windu with a capacity of 227 MW managed Magma Nusantara Limited, Bedugul managed by Bali Energy Limited, Sarulla managed by a Consortium of Sarulla Operations Limited. Cooperation through Joint Venture with PT Geo Dipa was also established to manage Dieng Field of 60 MW and Patuha Field.




Fix Phone
: 500 000 (from all cities in Indonesia)
: +62 21 7917 3000
: +62 21 7972 177
: +62 21 7111 3000
: Menara Cakrawala lt 11, Jl. MH. Thamrin No.9, Jakarta 10340 
© PT Pertamina Geothermal Energy Corporate Website